Recreational Campfires

Under a fire-code amendment adopted by the Summit County Commissioners and each of the town councils, a permit is required for all recreational (a.k.a. “backyard”) campfires in Summit County.

Residents of the Summit Fire & EMS response area – including Copper Mountain, Dillon, Frisco, Keystone, Montezuma, Silverthorne and the unincorporated areas of Wildernest/Mesa Cortina and Summit Cove – can apply for a permit at Community Connect. Follow the prompts to create a profile for your home and apply for a permit under the “Burn Permit” category.

The permit is free for residents within the Summit Fire & EMS Fire Protection District and the Heeney-based Lower Blue Fire Protection District.

Permits for properties outside those boundaries whose owners have not elected to join the fire district – primarily in the Lower Blue River valley north of Silverthorne – will be subjected to a $25 fee, payable here.

An Inspector will contact you for next steps.